The beginnings of the Museum in Wdzydze Kiszewskie go back to the year 1906. Its founders, Theodora and Izydor Gulgowski were the first who established an open air museum on Polish land. The XVIII th century cottage of a rich peasant bought from a local farmer Michał Hinc housed the collection. The collection consisted of typical of those times household and farm objects, precious headdresses decorated with golden embroidery, glass paintings and pottery.
Vast activities of the Museum’s founders resulted in development of local handcraft and discovered the beauty of Kashubian folk art hidden in fine root plaiting and colorful embroidery from Wdzydze.
Nowadays, already over centennial Museum stretches upon 22 ha of area located at the bank of the Gołuń lake built up with objects of regional architecture. Cottages, manors, a school, smithy, windmills, churches, farm buildings and craftsmen’s workshops – 52 objects from Kashubia and Kociewie testify the richness and variety of rural art of building from XVIIth till XXth century.Faithfully reconstructed interiors furnished authentically, temporarily operated farm and industrial machines and finally its picturesque location make this place magical.